Cameron Strang

Cameron Strang
Chairman & CEO
Warner Bros. Records and Warner/Chappell Music

Cameron Strang oversees legendary record label Warner Bros. Records as well as WMG’s Music Publishing arm, Warner/Chappell Music. Warner Bros. Records is one of the most successful recording companies in music history and home to some of the most influential and innovative artists of our time. Warner/Chappell Music is a global music publishing company and contains one of the world's greatest collections of musical compositions, ranging from well-known standards to new songs by emerging artists. 

Previously, Strang was the founder of Southside Independent Music Publishing, which was formed in 2004 and acquired by Warner/Chappell in 2010. Strang was also the founder of independent label, New West Records.

Prior to being acquired by Warner/Chappell, Southside was a leading independent music publishing company with a reputation for discovering and developing numerous talented writers, producers and artists across a wide range of genres. Southside was founded with the signing of J.R. Rotem and, in just six years, built a roster that included Elektra Records recording artist Bruno Mars; producer Brody Brown; Nashville-based writers, Ashley Gorley and Blair Daly; Christian music star, Matthew West; and Kings of Leon.

Some top Southside songs include B.o.B's "Nothin' on You" and Cee Lo Green's "F*** You," which were both nominated for the 2011 "Record of the Year" Grammy Award; the No. 1 singles, "Grenade" and "Just the Way You Are," by Bruno Mars, and "Wavin' Flag," by K'Naan; Carrie Underwood's "This Time," "All American Girl," "Just A Dream" and "Jesus, Take The Wheel," which won the 2007 Grammy for Best Country Song; Trace Adkins' "You're Gonna Miss This," which was awarded the Academy of Country Music's 2009 Single Record of the Year; Brad Paisley's "Then" and "American Saturday Night;" Kenny Chesney's "Where I Grew Up;" India.Arie's "Ghetto;" Darius Rucker's "It Won't Be Like This For Long;" Flo Rida's "Right Round" and "Who Dat Girl;" Kings of Leon's "Sex on Fire," "Taper Jean Girl," "Molly's Chambers" and "Use Somebody," which won three Grammys in 2010 and was one of the biggest global hits of the decade; and Rihanna's "S.O.S," Sean Kingston's "Beautiful Girls" and Leona Lewis' "Better In Time," which were written by Rotem.

In 1995, after practicing law for a few years in his home town of Vancouver, Strang launched New West Records. In 2001, the label released the Grammy Award-winning album Nothing Personal by roadhouse rocker Delbert McClinton, Billy Joe Shaver's critically acclaimed album, The Earth Rolls On, as well as albums from breakout artist Tim Easton and veteran Stephen Bruton. During the last decade, Strang and New West have released numerous award-winning albums and built an impressive roster that includes Steve Earle, Dwight Yoakam, Kris Kristofferson, Rickie Lee Jones, Drive By Truckers, Ben Lee, Old 97's, Buddy and Julie Miller. Recently New West acquired the Texas Music Group including the Antone's label and the Watermelon Label, and released the award-winning soundtrack to the film Crazy Heart.

Strang graduated from University of British Columbia Law School in 1992. He is based at Warner/Chappell's headquarters in Los Angeles.