24 Apr 2014
Warner/Chappell Music Named ASCAP Music Publisher of The Year
Printable Format Email

fun. Wins Vanguard Award
Publisher’s Songwriters Pick Up 18 “Most Performed Song of the Year” Awards
Warner/Chappell Music (WCM), the music publishing arm of Warner Music Group, has tied for the title of 2014 Music Publisher of the Year, as announced at last night’s 31st annual ASCAP Pop Music Awards. In addition, WCM songwriter Nate Ruess was honored with the ASCAP Vanguard Award, which was presented to his band fun. in recognition of their impact on shaping the future of American music. Rounding out the publisher’s incredible year, WCM songwriters also picked up 18 “Most Performed Song of the Year” awards.
Cameron Strang, Chairman & CEO, Warner/Chappell Music, said, “Over the last three years, Warner/Chappell has focused on building long-term careers for our songwriters and producers, giving them the resources they need to develop their craft, and promoting their talents across a wide variety of genres. For ASCAP to honor our team’s hard work and our songwriters’ talents in this way is tremendously gratifying.”
Jon Platt, President, North America, Warner/Chappell Music added, “This was a big year for Warner/Chappell songwriters, both icons and newcomers alike. Supporting each of them as they score massive hits at various different stages in their careers is a thrilling experience, and we’re extremely proud of all they’ve accomplished. Congratulations to all our winners and to everyone at Warner/Chappell, and thanks to ASCAP for the recognition.”
Following is the complete list of “Most Performed Song Awards” presented to WCM songwriters last night by ASCAP:
•    “Applause,” co-written by Dino Zisis
•    “Carry On,” co-written by Nate Ruess
•    “Daylight,” co-written by Mason Levy & Sam Martin
•    “Die Young,” co-written by Nate Ruess
•    “Hold On We’re Going Home,” co-written by Jordan Ullman & Majid Al-Maskati
•    “Holy Grail,” co-written by Shawn Carter & Terius Nash
•    “I Cry,” co-written by Alex Schwartz, Raphael Judrin & Joe Khajadourian
•    “Just Give Me A Reason,” co-written by Nate Ruess
•    “Locked Out of Heaven,” co-written by Philip Lawrence & Bruno Mars
•    “Mirrors,” co-written by Tim Mosley
•    “Roar,” co-written by Katy Perry
•    “Some Nights,” co-written by Nate Ruess
•    “Suit & Tie,” co-written by Shawn Carter
•    “Too Close,” co-written by Jim Duguid
•    “Treasure,” co-written by Philip Lawrence & Bruno Mars
•    “Wake Me Up,” co-written by Aloe Blacc
•    “When I Was Your Man,” co-written by Philip Lawrence & Bruno Mars
•    “Wide Awake,” co-written by Katy Perry
About Warner/Chappell
Warner/Chappell Music, the global music publishing company of Warner Music Group, is home to a wide array of legendary songwriters and a rich catalog of contemporary hits and influential standards. With offices in more than 40 countries, Warner/Chappell provides deep expertise across a range of creative services and the most innovative opportunities for songwriters and copyright holders. With a history dating back more than 200 years, Warner/Chappell currently publishes and administers music from Barry Gibb, Beyoncé, Bruno Mars, Eric Clapton, fun., Gamble & Huff, Green Day, Jay-Z, Katy Perry, Led Zeppelin, Madonna, Miramax Films, Muse, Radiohead, Red Hot Chili Peppers, R.E.M, Roc Nation, Stephen Sondheim, T.I., Timbaland, Wayne Hector, and Kacey Musgraves, among many others.

Source: Warner/Chappell Music